The Cathedral of the Holy Trinity in Paris is an Orthodox church, the episcopal seat of the diocese of Chersonese, which includes France, Switzerland, Monaco and Liechtenstein, and the center of the Western European exarchate of the Moscow Patriarchate. It is located in the 7th arrondissement in Paris (France), near the Pont de l’Alma, at the beginning of Quai Branly on the Seine river.

Projected in 2007 by Alexis II, Patriarch of Moscow, with the support of President Nicolas Sarkozy and President Vladimir Putin, it was built between 2013 and 2016 by the architect Jean-Michel Wilmotte. Dedicated to the Holy Trinity and to “historical, cultural and spiritual relations between France and Russia”, it was inaugurated in October 2016, succeeding the Cathedral of the Three Holy Doctors as episcopal seat.

Architecturally, it mixes Byzantine and Russian styles: it is topped by five traditional onion bell towers made of composite material covered in matte gold, and an Orthodox cross.

It is integrated into the Russian Orthodox Spiritual and Cultural Center (CSCOR), a complex which includes, in addition to the cathedral and the parish house, a cultural center (auditorium, bookstore, exhibition rooms, bilingual Franco-Russian school).

The Cathedral was one of the most visited places during the Days of the French National Heritage held in September 2017. According to approximate data it was visited by no less than 12,000 people.

Architect(s): Jean-Michel Wilmotte
Architectural type: Cathedral
Style: Art Moderne, New Classical
Groundbreaking: 2013
Completed: 2016

Address: 1 Quai Jacques Chirac, 75007 Paris, France.

Thursday 2–7 PM
Friday 2–7 PM
Saturday 2–7 PM
Sunday 2–7 PM
Monday 2–7 PM
Tuesday 2–7 PM
Wednesday 2–7 PM

See more:

20 arrondissements of Paris

Architecture of Paris

Museums of Paris

Entertainment in Paris

Bridges in Paris

Parks in Paris

Streets and squares in Paris

Shopping in Paris

Transport in Paris

Read more: Interesting places in the Pyrenees and around with Jane Cautch ...