Siberia (Russia) is a vast natural and historical region in Northern Asia, bounded from the west by the Ural Mountains, from the east by the watershed ridges separating the basins of the Arctic and Pacific oceans (historically by the Pacific Ocean), from the north by the Arctic Ocean, from the south – the state border of Russia. For the most part it became part of Russia in the 16th-18th centuries and forms its Asian part.

It is divided into Western and Eastern. Also sometimes they can distinguish Southern Siberia (in the mountainous part, the Altai Territory itself and the Altai Republic), North-Eastern Siberia and Middle (Central) Siberia. The Far East is also historically part of Siberia in the broad sense and sometimes continues to be referred to as part of Siberia, especially in historical publications.

The area of Siberia is about 10 million km², its length from west to east is 7500 km, from north to south – 3500 km. As of January 1, 2022, 37,275,609 people lived in the combined territory of Siberia and the Far East (Ural Federal District, Siberian Federal District and Far Eastern Federal District), that is, about 25.6% of the total population of the Russian Federation. The main name for the inhabitants of the region is Siberians, along with “Far East” and others.

Read more: Tourism in Russia ...