Russia, or the Russian Federation (abbr. RF), is a state in Eastern Europe and Northern Asia. Russia is the largest state in the world, its territory within internationally recognized borders is 17,234,031 km².  The country’s population is 146,203,613 people. (2023: 9th place in the world).

Russia is a federal presidential-parliamentary republic. Since December 31, 1999 (with a break in 2008-2012, when Dmitry Medvedev was president), the post of President of the Russian Federation has been held by Vladimir Putin.

Since January 16, 2020, Mikhail Mishustin has been the Chairman of the Government of the Russian Federation.

Moscow – the capital.

The official language throughout the country is Russian. The monetary unit is the Russian ruble.

The Russian Federation includes 89 subjects, 48 of which are called regions, 24 are republics, 9 are territories, 3 are federal cities, 4 are autonomous okrugs and 1 is an autonomous region. In total, there are about 157 thousand settlements in the country.

Russia is a multinational state with wide ethnocultural diversity. According to the results of the population censuses of Russia in 2010, as well as in Crimea and Sevastopol in 2014, representatives of over 190 nationalities live in the country, among which Russians make up over 80%, and over 99.4% of Russians speak Russian.

The majority of the population (about 75%) religiously consider themselves Orthodox, which makes Russia the country with the largest Orthodox population in the world.

Russia borders on 18 countries of the world (sixteen by land and two by sea). Russia is a permanent member of the UN Security Council with veto power; one of the world’s modern great powers. Russia is also a member of a number of international organizations: the UN, G20, EAEU, CIS, CSTO, WTO, OSCE, SCO, APEC, BRICS, IOC and others.

Russia is the first nuclear power countries. It is one of the leading space powers in the world.

See also Taxes in Russia