Moscow region

The Moscow region (unofficially – Подмосковье) is a subject of the Russian Federation (Russia), part of the Central Federal District. The administrative center of the Moscow region is the city of Moscow (not part of the region); part of the administrative authorities of the region is located in Krasnogorsk. In terms of population, it surpasses all other subjects of the federation, second only to Moscow.

The region is located in the central part of the East European Plain in the basin of the Volga, Oka, Klyazma, and Moscow rivers. It borders in the north-west and north with the Tver region, in the north-east and east – with Vladimir, in the south-east – with Ryazan, in the south – with Tula, in the south-west – with Kaluga, in the west – with Smolensk, in in the center – with a city of federal significance, the capital of Russia, Moscow. There is also a small northern section of the border with the Yaroslavl region.

The Moscow region was formed on January 14, 1929. Historically, the region was preceded by the Moscow province, formed in 1708. The region was part of the Central Industrial Region, formed during the consolidation of the units of administrative-territorial division of the RSFSR, and on June 3, 1929 it was renamed the Moscow Region.

The region consists of 52 cities of regional subordination (with their administrative territories), 3 urban-type settlements of regional subordination (with their administrative territories) and 5 closed administrative-territorial entities. In terms of municipal division, the region consists of 60 urban districts.

The region got its name from Moscow, which, however, is a separate subject of the Russian Federation and is not part of the region. State authorities of the Moscow region are located on the territory of the city of Moscow and the Moscow region. In 2007, most executive authorities were moved to the new Government House of the Moscow Region, located on the territory of the city of Krasnogorsk, 350 m from the border with Moscow

Read more: Tourism in Russia ...