University of Barcelona (UB)

The University of Barcelona, UB (Catalan: Universitat de Barcelona; Spanish: Universidad de Barcelona) is a public university located in the city of Barcelona, Catalonia, in Spain.

With 63,000 students, it is one of the biggest universities in Spain. It is one of the oldest universities in both Catalonia and Spain, established in 1450.

It is considered one of the best universities in Spain. Overall, the UB has been ranked 1st in Spain in most of the 2022-2023 rankings and is located around the 50th place in Europe.

It has 106 departments and more than 5,000 full-time researchers, technicians and research assistants, most of whom work in the 243 research groups as recognized and supported by the Government of Catalonia.

In 2010, the UB was awarded 175 national research grants and 17 European grants and participated in over 500 joint research projects with the business sector, generating an overall research income of 70 million euros. The work of these groups is overseen by the UB’s research centres and institutes which collaborate with leading research institutions and networks in Spain and abroad.

Administrative divisions

There are 16 faculties, 1 doctoral school, 60 departments and several Affiliated Centers at the UB. Both the departments and the faculties enjoy internal autonomy and their own self-governing bodies.


The Humanities or Central campus consists of the historic building (in the Eixample) and the building of the faculties of philosophy and history and geography located in the Raval district. Despite the name, it also houses computer science and mathematics students. The first building (the historic building) was built in the 19th century shortly after the university’s return to the city, which is why it can be considered the oldest campus of the University of Barcelona. The faculties of philosophy and history and geography have been located since October 2006 in the Raval neighborhood, where most of the University’s buildings were located between the 15th and 18th centuries.

Faculty of Philology and Communication (Historical Building and Josep Carner Building).
Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science (Historical building).
Faculty of Philosophy (Raval Building).
Faculty of Geography and History (Raval Building).

The August Pi i Sunyer Medicine-Clinic campus, better known as the Medicine-Clinic Campus, is a university campus of the UB in the city of Barcelona, specifically at the Hospital Clínic de Barcelona. The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences is divided between two campuses, the Clinical Campus and the Bellvitge Campus.

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (Clinical Campus)

The Salut Bellvitge campus is a university campus of the UB located in Hospitalet de Llobregat, in the Bellvitge district, which gives its name to the campus. You can find there:

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (Campus de Bellvitge).

On the Sants campus we find:

Faculty of Information and Audiovisual Media.
The Diagonal Portal del Coneixement campus, better known as the Diagonal Campus, is the largest UB campus located around the top of Avinguda Diagonal in Barcelona. There are the following Faculties:

Faculty of Law
Business and Economy faculty
Faculty of Fine Arts
Faculty of Biology
Faculty of Pharmacy and Food Sciences
Faculty of Physics
Faculty of Earth Sciences: it was created in 1974, when the old Faculty of Sciences of the University of Barcelona was divided into five faculties of the University of Barcelona. Until 1988, the Faculty was located in the University’s Historic Building, and since then it has been based on the Diagonal Campus.

Faculty of Chemistry.

In the Mundet campus there are the following Faculties:

Faculty of Education.
Faculty of Psychology

In the Torribera Food campus we find:

Faculty of Pharmacy and Food Sciences.

Affiliated centers

Sant Joan de Déu University Campus.
International Studies Center (CEI).
School of New Interactive Technologies (ENTI).
Higher School of Cinema and Audiovisuals of Catalonia (ESCAC).
Higher School of Commerce and Distribution (ESCODI).
School of Public Relations (ESRP).
School of Hospitality and Tourism (CETT).
National Institute of Physical Education of Catalonia (INEF).
Public Security Institute of Catalonia (ISPC).
UNIBA – International University Center of Barcelona.

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 585, 08007 Barcelona, Spain.

See also TOP universities of Spain

Read more: Education ...