The Museum of the History of the Troops of the Western Military District (House of officers) is located on Liteyny prospekt, 20, St. Petersburg. The museum was opened in 1964. In seven halls, on an area of more than 500 square meters, exhibits are presented that tell about the history of the St. Petersburg, Petrograd, Leningrad and Western military districts, about military operations during the Civil, Winter and Great Patriotic Wars.
Of particular interest is the exposition of the halls “Soviet-Finnish War of 1939-1940”, “Siege Leningrad”, “Breakthrough of the blockade”, “Removal of the blockade”. The museum has a unique painting “Breakthrough of the Siege of Leningrad”.
None of the museums in St. Petersburg reflects the battle for Leningrad in 1941-1944 in such detail and completely.
In total, there are about three thousand exhibits in the museum’s funds. Among them is the nominal sniper rifle of the Hero of the Soviet Union Theodosius Smolyachkov, parts of the MiG-3 aircraft, on which the fighter pilot of the Leningrad Front, Hero of the Soviet Union Alexei Sevastyanov, fought and died.
The museum is open daily from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., except Saturday and Sunday. Tel. for inquiries: +7 991 027 38 05
Excursions in the House of Officers are held only for organized groups, the interiors cannot be seen on your own.
Address: St. Petersburg, Liteyny pr., 20