Russian Museum of Pedagogy and Children’s Creativity on the basis of the Russian Museum was formed in 1990 in St. Petersburg. Its creation took place at the time of the transformation of the Russian Museum into a unique architectural and artistic complex. The department occupies the Eastern Pavilion of the Saint Michael’s Castle.
Architects: Brenna V.F.
Year of construction: 1798-1799
After its reconstruction, in 2010, a modern infrastructure for serving visitors was created here.
In the department building:
•Library with a collection of books dedicated to art
•Polyfunctional assembly hall
In 1993, the department began to develop a science-based system of interaction between culture and education. Within five years, the staff of the department carried out the development and testing of the first domestic museum and pedagogical program “Hello, the museum!”. In 1996, the Hello Museum! became a laureate of the Prize of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation “For scientific research in the field of culture and art”.
The Russian Museum owns a unique collection of children’s drawings, the beginning of which dates back to 1959. A year earlier, it was one of the first art museums to provide its halls for young artists. Today, the Children’s Creativity Fund has more than four thousand works of children from around the world from 2 to 17 years old.
Address: 191023, St. Petersburg, Engineer street, 10
(entrance to the building from the side of the Circus)
Working days: 10.00 – 17.30, Sat, Sun – weekend.