Polytechnic University of Catalonia

Polytechnic University of Catalonia

The Polytechnic University of Catalonia BarcelonaTech (UPC, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya) is a public research and higher education institution specializing in engineering, architecture and science (Barcelona). It has centers and facilities in Barcelona, ​​Castelldefels, Manresa, Sant Cugat del Valles, Tarrassa and Vilanova i la Geltrú. It is the largest technical university in Catalonia, in 2020 it had 22 schools and faculties in seven cities in Catalonia.

The first predecessor of the Polytechnic University of Catalonia (UPC) refers to the founding in 1968 of the Higher Polytechnic Institute, which united the existing public technical schools in Barcelona. These schools had excellent traditions and their origins in some cases date back to the mid-nineteenth century, such as the School of Industrial Engineers in Barcelona, ​​which began operations in October 1851. Victor de Buen, President of the Higher Polytechnic Institute, was the first rector of the Polytechnic University.

Main faculties and schools

  • Center for Higher Interdisciplinary Training (CFIS)
  • Center for Image and Multimedia Technology (CITM)
  • Castelldefels School of Telecommunications and Aerospace Engineering (EETAC)
  • Barcelona Polytechnic School of Building (EPEB)
  • Manresa School of Engineering (EPSEM)
  • Polytechnic School of Engineering of Vilanova i la Geltrú (EPSEVG)
  • Barcelona School of Agri-Food and Biosystems Engineering (EEABB), former Barcelona School of Agriculture (ESAB)
  • The Terrassa School of Industrial, Aerospace and Audiovisual Engineering (ESEIAAT) is a public center for higher education and research on the Terrassa Campus. The center was born on November 24, 2015, as a result of the integration of two centenary schools; the Terrassa School of Engineering (EET) and the Terrassa School of Industrial and Aeronautical Engineering (ETSEIAT)
  • Barcelona School of Architecture (ETSAB)
  • Vallès School of Architecture (ETSAV)
  • Barcelona School of Civil Engineering (ETSECCPB)
  • Barcelona School of Industrial Engineering (ETSEIB)
  • Barcelona University School of Industrial Engineering (EUETIB)
  • East Barcelona School of Engineering (EEBE)
  • Faculty of Optics and Optometry of Terrassa
  • Polytechnic University School of Mataró (EUPM)
  • Barcelona School of Informatics (FIB)
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Statistics (FME)
  • Barcelona Nautical Faculty (FNB)
  • Barcelona School of Telecommunications Engineering (ETSETB)
  • School of Business Administration (EAE)
  • Euncet University School of Terrassa


Read more: Education ...