Bourgogne-Franche-Comté (sometimes abbreviated BFC) is an administrative region located in the northeastern quarter of France. It resulted from the administrative merger, on January 1, 2016, of the two former regions of Burgundy and Franche-Comté.

With an area of 47,784 km2, it is the fifth largest of the thirteen regions of mainland France and brings together eight departments: Côte-d’Or, Doubs, Haute-Saône, Jura, Nièvre, Saône- et-Loire, the Territoire de Belfort and the Yonne.

Its population amounted to 2,800,194 inhabitants in 2021, making it the third least populated region and the second least densely populated (58.6 inhabitants/km2).

Its capital is Dijon while Besançon hosts the headquarters of the regional council.

Read more: Interesting places in the Pyrenees and around with Jane Cautch ...