Arantza and its attractions

Arantza (Sp. Aranaz) is a town and municipality located in the Foral Community of Navarre, in the Pamplona merindad, in the Cinco Villas region, Atlantic PyreneesSpain.

Cinco Villas de la Montaña or simply Cinco Villas (in Basque, Bortziriak or Bortzerriak) is a region and a sub-zone located on both sides of the Bidasoa River, in the north of Navarre. Bordering France and Basque country, it is made up of the five municipalities of Arantza, Yanci, Lesaka, Etxalar and Bera and is part of the Merindad de Pamplona. It is an area with a Basque-speaking majority.

Main attractions

The church of Our Lady of the Assumption Church (1881)

Hermitage of San José (1 km, on the access road).

Hermitage of San Juan Xar (on the border with Yanci).

How to get to?

From Pamplona 58 min (63.4 km) via N-121-A

From Madrid 4 hr 47 min (496 km) via A-1 and AP-1

Main information

Area: 31 km²

Coordinates: 43°11′46″N 1°43′29″W

Population: 606

Languages: Spanish, Basque

Currency: Euro

Visa: Schengen

Time: Central European UTC +1

Read more: The cities of the Pyrenees and around with Andrew Morato ...