The 9th arrondissement of Paris (9e arrondissement) is one of the 20 arrondissements of Paris (France).

Under the terms of article R. 2512-1 of the General Code of Local Authorities (regulatory part), it also bears the name “Opéra district”, but this name is rarely used in everyday life.

The arrondissement, called Opéra, is located on the right bank of the River Seine. It borders with the 18th arrondissement in the north, 8th and 17th in the west, 2d in the south, and 10th in the east.

It contains many places of cultural, historical and architectural interest, including the Palais Garnier (home to the Paris Opera), on the Place de l’Opéra, together with the InterContinental Paris Le Grand Hotel’s Café de la Paix, as well as Boulevard Haussmann, with the Galeries Lafayette and Printemps, two large department stores, in addition to the Le Figaro newspaper. It hosts two historic churches, noted for their classical architecture, art and decoration: Saint-Louis-d’Antin and Notre-Dame-de-Lorette.

The arrondissement also contains a number of theatres and music venues including the Olympia, Folies Bergère, Théâtre Mogador, Théâtre Édouard VII and Théâtre de Paris. Along with the 2nd and 8th arrondissements, it hosts one of the business centres of Paris, located around the Palais Garnier.

Main sights

Notable buildings and important infrastructure

Casino de Paris

Galeries Lafayette

Opera Garnier

Paris metro line 2 viaduct

Main streets and squares

Boulevard de Clichy (partial)

Rue Saint-Lazare (partial)


Paris Metro and RER (lines and stations)

(M) (2) (Barbès – Rochechouart, Anvers, Pigalle, Blanche et Place de Clichy).
(M) (3) (Opéra, Havre – Caumartin et Saint-Lazare).
(M) (4) (Barbès – Rochechouart).
(M) (7) (Opéra, Chaussée d’Antin – La Fayette, Le Peletier, Cadet et Poissonnière).
(M) (8) (Bonne-Nouvelle, Grands Boulevards, Richelieu – Drouot, Opéra et Madeleine).
(M) (9) (Bonne-Nouvelle, Grands Boulevards, Richelieu – Drouot, Chaussée d’Antin – La Fayette et Havre – Caumartin).
(M) (12) (Saint-Lazare, Trinité – d’Estienne d’Orves, Notre-Dame-de-Lorette, Saint-Georges et Pigalle).
(M) (13) (Saint-Lazare, Liège et Place de Clichy).
(M) (14) (Madeleine, Saint-Lazare).
(RER) (A) (Auber).
(RER) (E) (Haussmann Saint-Lazare).

Main facts

Area 2.18 km2 (0.84 sq mi)
Population (Jan. 2020) 60,168
Density 27,600/km2 (71,000/sq mi)
INSEE code 75109

See more:

20 arrondissements of Paris

Architecture of Paris

Museums of Paris

Entertainment in Paris

Bridges in Paris

Parks in Paris

Streets and squares in Paris

Shopping in Paris

Transport in Paris

Read more: Interesting places in the Pyrenees and around with Jane Cautch ...